Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email From: cww@netcom.com (Carl Walter White, Jr) Subject: linkus.com refuses to disconnect classy-fieds.com for spamming... Message-ID: Date: Wed, 28 Jan 1998 17:50:56 GMT Copyright: Copyright (c) 1998 Walter White Not for distribution on Micro$oft Network i suggest that everyone add classy-fieds.com and linkus.com to their spam filters. i received a spam from classy-fieds.com with these headers: > From sell-it@classy-fieds.com Tue Jan 27 17:43:30 1998 > Return-Path: > Received: from webpages.linkus.com (linkus.com [207.93.198.10]) > by mail6.netcom.com (8.8.5-r-beta/8.8.5/(NETCOM v1.02)) with SMTP id RAA15863 > for ; Tue, 27 Jan 1998 17:43:29 -0800 (PST) > Received: from port91-40.uss.net (port91-40.uss.net [209.100.91.40]) by webpages.linkus.com (NTMail 3.02.10) with ESMTP id fa023977 for ; Tue, 27 Jan 1998 20:43:27 +0000 > Received: by port91-40.uss.net with Microsoft Mail > id <01BD2B5C.4B8F25A0@port91-40.uss.net>; Tue, 27 Jan 1998 19:46:44 -0600 > Message-ID: <01BD2B5C.4B8F25A0@port91-40.uss.net> > From: Debbie Shur > To: "'cww@netcom.com'" > Date: Tue, 27 Jan 1998 19:41:45 -0600 > MIME-Version: 1.0 > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" > Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit > Status: RO here is the domain info: Future Spectrum Computer Services (CLASSY-FIEDS-DOM) 17691 S. Springfield Country Club Hills, IL 60478 US Domain Name: CLASSY-FIEDS.COM Administrative, Technical, Zone, Billing Contact: Cassan, James (JC7642) 76423.3570@COMPUSERVE.COM (708) 626-1649 (FAX) (708) 206-0925 NS1.LINKUS.COM 207.93.198.6 NS2.LINKUS.COM 207.93.198.7 i sent a complaint to linkus.com which they forwarded to classy-fieds.com. here is the response i got from the spam weasel. you folks should have fun tearing it apart. > From sell-it@classy-fieds.com Wed Jan 28 07:17:52 1998 > Return-Path: > Received: from webpages.linkus.com (linkus.com [207.93.198.10]) > by mail5.netcom.com (8.8.5-r-beta/8.8.5/(NETCOM v1.02)) with SMTP id HAA24209 > for ; Wed, 28 Jan 1998 07:16:34 -0800 (PST) > Received: from port91-48.uss.net (port91-48.uss.net [209.100.91.48]) by webpages.linkus.com (NTMail 3.02.10) with ESMTP id ha024031 for ; Wed, 28 Jan 1998 10:16:33 +0000 > From: "Jim Cassan" > To: > Subject: Spam E-Mail > Date: Wed, 28 Jan 1998 09:15:11 -0600 > Message-ID: <01bd2bff$86f37940$305b64d1@cassan> > MIME-Version: 1.0 > Content-Type: multipart/alternative; > boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0019_01BD2BCD.3C590940" > X-Priority: 3 > X-MSMail-Priority: Normal > X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 4.71.1712.3 > X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V4.71.1712.3 > Status: RO > > This is a multi-part message in MIME format. > > ------=_NextPart_000_0019_01BD2BCD.3C590940 > Content-Type: text/plain; > charset="iso-8859-1" > Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable > > Mr. White, > > First, let me apologize for causing you grief over our e-mail > advertisement. It is not our intention to aggravate anyone. If you > don't wish to receive "spam" e-mail, simply send a message requesting > to be removed. You have already been removed from our list. > > Second, I feel I should explain something to you. Spam e-mail is just > another form of advertising, not some form of evil. Just as you find > commercials in television, verbal ads in radio, and brochures and > fliers in postal mail; you will find advertising on the Internet. > Without these forms of advertising, you would not have television > programs to watch, radio programs to listen to, and possibly no mail > delivery to your home. I can assure you that you would have no > Internet access or e-mail account. Advertising is clearly what pays > for the services you use. > > Lastly, I would like to save you some time by explaining how the spam > e-mail system typically works. When someone sends out information via > a "spam" list, they are paying for their right to use the e-mail > systems just as you do, often times paying much more for the > opportunity. For this reason, most ISP's will not consider your > request to "ban" them seriously, considering that they are being paid > for their service. "Spamming" is not illegal, it is merely > advertising. The best way to avoid it is to disregard it. > > One more note, and something you should consider: You are obviously > upset with anyone who sends you "spam" e-mail, you should know that the > reason advertisers have your e-mail address is because it has been sold > by someone you gave it to. Most of the lists that we use are purchased > from vendors. The people who are providing your e-mail address are the > ones you have trusted, and probably paid. > > Sincerely, > > Jim Cassan > Classy-fieds obviously an unrepentant spammer. i noticed that the spam and this reply were both sent from uss.net. i notified them that their network was being used to send spam at the same time i complained to linkus.com. anybody know what is going on at uss.net? i called linkus.com to talk about this abuse. i was told that they were not going to do anything about it and that linkus.com has no policy toward spamming. linkus.com has a toll free number, 1-888-865-4658, that you can call. you might want to call them and tell them to make sure that you are on classy-fieds.com's remove list. -- Part of the vast right-wing conspiracy since 1967. Walter White (cww@netcom.com)